A “sweet” time at Honeymoon Dessert, Tsim Sha Tsui

Honeymoon Dessert (iSQUARE)

Address:Shop 604, iSQUARE, 63 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui.

If you’ve ever visited/lived in Hong Kong, then you’ll most likely have seen one of Honeymoon Dessert’s branches somewhere along the way. This is probably one of my favourite “Chinese style” dessert shops in Hong Kong as the prices aren’t bad, the shops are quite clean and accessible, and I feel like I can get away with eating more by justifying that a lot of their desserts have fruit in them 🙂

Honeymoon is usually packed with people at night (I’m assuming that people like going there after dinner), but on the day I went it was in the afternoon and therefore quite empty.

Image

Because of their huge range of desserts ( see http://www.honeymoon-dessert.com/), I always have a pretty difficult time choosing my dessert – but I almost always settle for something with mango and ice cream in it.

I ordered the Tofu Pudding with Mango Sauce, Mango and Green Tea ice cream, and my friend opted for one of my all time favourites- Thai Black Glutinous Rice with Mango (Coconut Juice) and Green Tea ice cream.

Image

My dessert was delicious- the mango was fresh and sweet and complemented the texture of the tofu pudding very well. However, the mango sauce was a bit too strong in flavour and covered up the natural “bean” aroma that you get from tofu pudding. The ice cream went well with the overall dessert, and was more of a bitter green tea flavour than milky, which I prefer.

Image
My friend’s Thai Black Glutinous Rice with Mango also tasted delicious – the rice was sweet, chewy, and went well with the large slices of mango and cold coconut milk. The bitterness of the ice cream contrasted nicely with the glutinous rice and made the overall flavour of the dish milder.

All in all, a very satisfying sweet treat. 🙂

6 thoughts on “A “sweet” time at Honeymoon Dessert, Tsim Sha Tsui

Leave a Reply

