Gai Dan Jai at Mammy Pancake, Hung Hom

I’ve decided to start a new segment of posts titled Street Food Sundays,as a tribute to all the cheap yet tasty snacks available in Hong Kong. For my first post, I decided to venture to Hung Hom in search of what many deem the best gai dan jais in Hong Kong.

What exactly are gai dan jais? A literal translation amounts to the term “little chicken eggs”, which doesn’t really help. In reality, gai dan jais are bite-sized, egg-shaped waffles, cooked upon a stove-top iron and are available all over Hong Kong. As these are one of my all-time favourite street food snacks in Hong Kong, I’m always on the lookout for them.

Mammy Pancake

Address: Shop 2A, G/F, Whampoa Street, Hung Hom

Mammy Pancake consists of a small shop which primarily sells gai dan jais, although they also sell drinks and other popular street snacks such as siu mai. The gai dan jais come in 3 flavours- original, chocolate and sesame. I picked original as I wanted to compare these gai dan jais to ones I’ve tasted previously. However, most people in front of me opted for the chocolate variety which looks deliciously decadent, so I may try it next time I come.

Image

Upon receiving my paper bag containing a set of plump, golden gai dan jais, what I first noticed was that they were surrounded by a ring of crust- namely the crispy excess from the gai dan jai batter. Although I’m not entirely sure whether or not it was just a fluke or standard procedure, it definitely gave these particular batch of gai dan jais an extra “kick” of uniqueness in both looks and texture.

ImageImage

Biting into the gai dan jais, I immediately felt a slight crunch, followed by a pillowy, eggy interior. The gai dan jais were of a perfect consistency and were not hollow unlike many others I’ve tasted in the past.

With the perfect sweetness, and great balance of crust versus chewiness, I think that I’ve found one of my favourite gai dan jai stalls. Shame that it’s so inaccessible or I’d go there every week!

Image

5 thoughts on “Gai Dan Jai at Mammy Pancake, Hung Hom

Leave a Reply

