Beigel Bake Brick Lane Bakery- Amazing Bagels in London!

As a student in London, finding extremely affordable (and delicious) places to eat is like searching for a needle in a haystack- not entirely impossible, but definitely quite pernickety. It comes as no surprise then that when I chanced upon Beigel Bake during my weekly Urbanspoon browsing/ procrastinating sessions that I knew I had to try this place out.

Screen Shot 2014-02-10 at 7.17.55 pmSince 1977, Beigel Bake has been serving baked goods- primarily bagels (which they call beigels)- with a whole range of different fillings ranging from cream cheese to Nutella.  Its claim to fame however is its hot salt beef biegel, which you can see being prepared from the window outside…

Screen Shot 2014-02-10 at 7.18.26 pmAccording to Wikipedia, Beigel Bake produces 7,000 biegels every single day…and I wouldn’t be surprised judging from the amount of biegels I saw stacked around everywhere. I felt like I was in a bread factory! It took a little while for me to finally order my food because of the long winding queue which spilled out onto the streets of Brick Lane. The turnover rate was however very fast, and it was interesting to watch the biegels being constructed from scratch.

Screen Shot 2014-02-10 at 7.18.53 pm

IMG_0622I ordered the salt beef biegel (it cost 3.7 pounds) and it was served to me within seconds in a paper bag, still warm in my hands. The biegel itself was delicious- with a slightly crunchy exterior and dense interior- but what really stole the show were the large slabs of salt beef, which were flavourful and tender, with just the right amount of fat to meat ratio. I especially liked how every bite of the biegel was complemented by the burst of flavour exuding from the meat. Needless to say, I gobbled it up in a matter of minutes!

IMG_0625^The smoked salmon and cream cheese biegel was also delicious but I definitely preferred the salt beef biegel (although it was almost double the price!)

Screen Shot 2014-02-10 at 7.25.30 pm^A very satisfied customer

To wrap it up, Beigel Bake is somewhere I will be returning to next time I am around the Shoreditch area, and was definitely worth the wait!

159 Brick Lane
London
E1 6SB

Find the menu on Zomato

Beigel Bake on Urbanspoon

4 thoughts on “Beigel Bake Brick Lane Bakery- Amazing Bagels in London!

  1. Really loving your blog! *i’m definitely obsessed with food, god help me* I’ve been wanting to go to the Beigel Bake for so long and your post has absolutely confirmed my visit in the near future. Happy eating!

    Like

Leave a Reply

