Elephant Grounds Coffee, Sheung Wan

In the sweltering Hong Kong summer, a glass of iced coffee really hits the spot- and Elephant Grounds is one of the city’s newest hideouts to sample a tasty cup of joe.

photo 5

Tucked in the back corner of the WOAW lifestyle concept store on Gough Street, Elephant Grounds offers a range of coffees and teas at prices comparable to run-of-the-mill coffee chains, but made with a lot more care and effort. I selected the iced French vanilla latte and it was deliciously refreshing and well-balanced- quite milky and creamy but not overly so to the extent that it was exceedingly filling. The iced coffee on the right belongs to my friend who also enjoyed her drink. 🙂

photo 4

photo 1

Elephant Grounds was actually brought to my attention through Homie Cookies– I’ve always wanted to try their cookies but because of their lack of physical store, was unable to- so naturally I leapt at the opportunity to try them out at Elephant Grounds. It’s all over the internet as to who the founder of Homie Cookies is- but when I tried to chat with the barista about this topic I was immediately told that they were not allowed to disclose any details. This surprised me a little bit, especially because it wasn’t a secret to start with!

Nevertheless, I tried out the bandcamp cookie -think of the ingredients of s’more smushed together in a cookie and that’s what it tastes like. It was dense, not overly sweet and made me want to go to a barbecue right away.

photo 2Unfortunately it was way too hot to sit outside on the patio, but I can imagine it being a popular place to relax in the cooler months ahead!

photo 3In short, Elephant Grounds is a relaxing place to sit and enjoy a cup of coffee. There aren’t many seats available but takeaway is an option- on the weekday afternoon I went there were quite a lot of people coming and going but my friend and I still had the opportunity to sit for about an hour.

Address: (Inside Woaw Store), 11 Gough Street, Sheung Wan

3 thoughts on “Elephant Grounds Coffee, Sheung Wan

  1. oh man, those cookies look amazing! Did you try Ben’s Cookies back in the UK?! WE LOVE THEM! We haven’t been able to find any suitable substitutes in HK yet though! 😦

    Also I’m not a coffee fan, but the drinks look adorable in those little glass jars! xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

