Review: Dishoom, King’s Cross

I’m definitely not a morning person, but when I heard that the newly-opened Dishoom at King’s Cross was offering a 50% discount off all meals, I knew I had to seize the opportunity and finally try out their highly-lauded breakfasts. After all, who doesn’t love a good deal? 🙂 I’ve visited once more since the deal, and can definitely say that it’s worth a visit even if you have to pay full price.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetDishoom is a well-known Bombay-style cafe in London, with other branches in Covent Garden and Shoreditch. I’ve yet to pay a visit to the other two locations, but the Kings Cross branch looked absolutely amazing the moment I walked in- think colonial-style vintage decor, mixed with a warehouse-like feel.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetBecause everything was 50% off, my friend and I went a little crazy and ordered 4 breakfasts between us- not pictured is the sausage naan roll which we had to end up taking home because we were so stuffed! Oops. (It was delicious though, even after reheating it a day later.)

We started off our meal with some juices- my friend went for the cucumber, celery,watermelon rind, spinach, apple and ginger green juice, whilst I opted for watermelon and apple. Whilst the juices were delicious and fresh I don’t think I would pay full price for them as they were a little bit on the small side- I’d rather go for their delicious mango lassi or house chai instead!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetWe then had a kejriwal- two fried eggs atop chilli cheese toast. I’m a massive fan of runny fried eggs and cheese, and this dish definitely didn’t disappoint. I especially enjoyed the slow burning sensation of the chilli in the toast, which went really well with the egg yolk and some ketchup.

Dishoom6

Knowing that one of Dishoom’s signature dishes is the bacon naan, I knew that I definitely had to give this a go- though we ordered the one with a fried egg in it as well. The bacon is, according to Dishoom’s menu, “dry-cured for five days with rock salt and Demerara sugar then cold-smoked over oak chips.” The result? A heavenly combination of salty yet sweet bacon, yolky goodness from the eggs, all wrapped up in a chewy naan roll. I also really liked the sweet chilli sauce that came with the roll, which I felt added that extra kick of heat to the dish.Dishoom5Finally, we went for keema per eedu– a concoction of spicy chicken keema, chicken liver and fried eggs. This dish was served with toasted and slightly sweet pau buns. My friend and I both thought that this dish was way too oily (see the final picture below), but the flavours were vibrant and I loved the texture of the chicken and buttery liver. It was definitely a very heavy dish with the oil, carbs and meat, so if you want to order this, definitely go to Dishoom on an empty stomach.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Dishoom7

Oily Keema

Overall, we had a great meal at Dishoom. The food was tasty, the environment unique, and the service was also really friendly and helpful (though a little bit slow during the soft opening- the second time I went it was much speedier). I’m definitely coming for a third visit soon!

5 Stable Street,
Granary Square,
King’s Cross,
London
N1C 4AB

Dishoom King's Cross on Urbanspoon

Find the menu on Zomato

8 thoughts on “Review: Dishoom, King’s Cross

    • I think it just opened a couple of months ago- the space is huge!! I tried the chai here on a separate occasion and it was so tasty and aromatic- I’ll definitely try out the chocolate version soon 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • it’s super good- Yelp recently named it the best eatery in the UK- though obviously I’d take those ‘best eats’ lists with a pinch of salt . highly recommend the chai tea as well 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

