Review: The Slow Richies, Bloomsbury

The other day, I was perusing Buzzfeed (as you do) and came across The Slow Richies in this article. Upon realising that they were currently in residence at The Jeremy Bentham, a pub located smack bang in the middle of my University campus, I knew I had to try them out ASAP before they left…and so I did! 🙂 the slow richies the hog sandwichThe Jeremy Bentham is a pub that many students in the Bloomsbury area are familiar with. On this occasion, the entire top floor smelled like burgers (even the bathroom)- that’s because the kitchen is located on this floor, and the scent was a delicious prelude to our meal.

the slow richies jeremy bentham

By the end of our meal, this entire area was packed with hungry people feasting on The Slow Richie’s burgers and sandwiches.the slow richies jeremy bentham

The menu is quite simple- there are 3 burgers (with one catered to vegetarians), 3 sandwiches, a couple of sides and a homemade chocolate brownie for dessert (which we sadly did not try). I went for The Hog, whilst my friend opted for The Beef , and we shared a bowl of triple cooked chips (fries). P.S- if you’re gluten-free, they also offer gluten-free buns too!

SlowRichies_MenuBecause the burgers are made on the spot (and we were one of the first bunch of customers to arrive), we had to wait a little while for our food to arrive, but trust me- it’s worth it!the slow richies

the slow richies the hogOnce our food arrived I immediately made a beeline for the chips as I am a COMPLETE potato fanatic. These ones were deliciously crisp with a fluffy, smoking hot middle. I felt like I was eating a warm hug, which felt incredibly comforting especially as it was freezing cold.I then bit into my hog sandwich, which consisted of 12 hour roasted pork belly, chilli apple sauce and thin strips of crackling, all wrapped up in a brioche bun. This was amazing- I loved the melt-in-your-mouth pork belly contrasted with the crispy crackling, and the little sharp and sweet accents of apple and chilli. For those of you who have never tried crackling, it essentially tastes like roast suckling pig that we serve in Asia.

There is also no elegant way to eat this sandwich so I suggest that you just use your hands and dig in 🙂 the slow richies burger

I also had a bite out of my friend’s burger, which was topped with honey-glazed pork belly (yum) and cheese- this was exceptionally juicy and the flavours once again contrasted in a really nice way.

the slow richies vinylOne of my favourite things about this meal was that they serve the sandwiches and burgers on top of vinyl plates- how cool is that?

All in all, if you’re looking for a new burger place to try out in Central London, this is the place to go- but come quick because their residence ends soon!

31 University Street, London WC1E 6JL
https://twitter.com/slowrichies 

7 thoughts on “Review: The Slow Richies, Bloomsbury

    • i feel that even a basic burger in the UK tastes better than any gourmet burger you can find in Hong Kong…which means I gotta eat as much as possible before I come back!! 😛

      Like

Leave a Reply

